GeoBIM benchmark 2019

Recent news

The benchmark is finished, thank you to all the involved people for the participation! The website is up-to-date with final participants and (almost) final list of software. In the 'event' page of this website, you can also find the materials and recordings of the GeoBIM benchmark workshop. Have a nice Christmas break everyone!!

The EuroSDR/AMS-institute GeoBIM benchmark workshop is open for registrations (deadline 15th November). The workshop will be held on next December 2nd/3rd in Amsterdam to get insight into the GeoBIM benchmark results and explore in detail the related topics (3D city models, Building Information Models, respective open standards - CityGML, CityJSON, IFC, and more, GeoBIM use cases - automatic building permission issuing, asset management, energy simulations). Visit the 'event' page of this website for more details.

Last week we presented our work so far as a Keynote to the 3D Geoinfo 2019 Conference in Singapore, you can find the new presentation and the new papers in the 'presentations&publications' section of the website. The submission of all the results is approaching, ONE MONTH IS LEFT. We are looking forward to that moment:-)

All news

The website and the FAQ section tries to answer possible doubts about the test and the data. Do you have more and would you like to talk about them or about found issues? You can register in this doodle: Q&A session about the GeoBIM benchmark If a few people are interested, the session will be hold on 3rd October 2019 h.10.00-11.00 CET via web (we will publish the link to join).

Reference study on software support for open standards of city and building models

This benchmark will investigate the available technical solutions to support research and activities related to GeoBIM, through the use of the open standards IFC (by buildingSMART) and CityGML (by OGC):


1. What is the support for IFC within BIM (and other) software?

2. What options for geo-referencing BIM data are available?

3. What is the support for CityGML within GIS (and other) tools?

4. What options for conversion (IFC↔CityGML) are available?


We want you

You can be part of this scientific initiative!

Take part in this benchmark activity by performing one or more tasks.

Volunteers will be welcome to perform one or more tasks using the tools they are familiar with, contributing to build a common reference list of tools to be used for GeoBIM-related activities.

At least one scientific publication co-authored by both the benchmark proponents and volunteers will be written, and final results will be published on the website.

How to participate

And browse the website to know all the details.

Download the call for participation

If you only want to be up-to-date about GeoBIM benchmark activities

Important dates and next steps

March 2019
  • Complete materials available
  • Start of declaration of interest from participants

July 8th, 2019
  • GeoBIM benchmark meeting with participants and proponents

October 31st, 2019
  • Deadline for data processing and benchmark answer submission

December 2nd-3rd, 2019